Skip to main content
Pentaho Documentation

Working with Version Control

Whenever you save a job or transformation in the DI Repository, you are prompted to provide a comment. Your comments are saved along with your job or transformation so that you can keep track of changes you make. If you have made a change to a transformation or job that you do not like, you can choose to restore a specific version of that job or transformation. It is important to provide descriptive version control comments, so that you can make good decisions when reverting to a version of a job or transformation.

Examining Revision History

To examine revision history for a job or transformation...

  1. In Spoon menubar, go to Tools > Repository > Explore. The Repository Explorer window opens.
  2. In the navigation pane on the left, locate and double-click the folder that contains your job or transformation.
  3. Click on a transformation or job from the list to select it. The Version History associated with transformation or job appears in the lower pane.

    Administrative users see the home folders of all users on the system. If you are not logged in as an administrator, you see your home and public folders. Your home folder is where you manage private content, such as transformations and jobs that are in progress. The public folder is where you store content that you want to share with others.

    Right-click on the line under Version History that contains the transformation or job you want to examine. Choose Opento open the transformation or job in Spoon.

Restoring a Previously Saved Version of a Job or Transformation

To restore a version of a job or transformation.

  1. In Spoon menubar, go to Tools > Repository > Explore. The Repository Explorer window opens.
  2. Browse through the folders to locate the transformation or job that has multiple versions associated with it.
  3. Right-click on a transformation or job from the list to select it.
  4. Select Restore.
  5. Write a meaningful comment in the Commit Comment dialog box and click OK. The version is restored.  The next time you open the transformation or job, the restored version is what you will see.