Skip to main content
Pentaho Documentation

Managing Content in the Pentaho Repository Explorer

Content is managed in the Browse tab in the Repository Explorer window.  In the Repository Explorer window, you can perform common tasks such as those listed below:

  • Create a new folder in the repository

  • Open a folder, job, or transformation

  • Rename a folder, job or transformation

  • Delete a folder, job, or transformation

  • Lock a job or transformation

Access Repository Explorer Window

To access the Repository Explorer window, do these things.

  1. Connect to a repository.  To learn how to do this, see Create Pentaho Repository Connections.
  2. Select Tools > Repository > Explore.
  3. The Repository Explorer window appears.
Note: Permissions set by your administrator determine what you are able to view and tasks you are able to perform in the repository.

RepositoryExplorerWindow.png

Create a New Folder in the Repository

To create a new folder in the repository, perform these steps.

  1. In the Browse tab in the Repository Explorer window, right-click on the folder that you want to create the new folder under.  For example, if you want to create a new folder under public, right-click the public folder.
  2. Select New Folder.
  3. Enter the name for the new folder in the Name New Folder window.
  4. Click OK.

Open a Folder, Job, or Transformation

To open a folder, job, or transformation. right-click on the folder, job, or transformation and select Open.  

To select more than one file, hold down the CTRL or SHIFT keys as you select the folders, jobs, or transformations, then right-click and select Open.

Rename a Folder, Job or Transformation

To rename a folder, job, or transformation, in the Repository Explorer window do these things.

  1. In the Browse tab in the Repository Explorer window, right-click the folder, job, or transformation and select Rename.

  2. Enter the new name in the Name window that appears.

  3. Click OK.

  4. Enter a comment when prompted.

  5. Click the OK button.

In the Version History tab, a comment appears that indicates that the file has been renamed.

Move Objects 

To move objects, such as folders, jobs, or transformations, in the repository, select the object, then click-and-drag it to the desired location in the navigation pane on the left. You can move an object in your folder to the folder of another repository user.

To select more than one file, hold down the CTRL or SHIFT keys as you select the folders, jobs, or transformations, then right-click and select Move.

Restore Objects

To restore an object you deleted, double-click the Trash icon. The object(s) you deleted appear in the right pane. Right-click on the object you want restored, and select Restore from the menu.

Delete a Folder, Job, or Transformation

To delete a folder, job, or transformation, in the Repository Explorer window do these things.

  1. In the Browse tab in the Repository Explorer window, right-click the folder, job, or transformation and select Delete.
  2. Click Yes when the warning message appears.
  3. Click OK.

To select more than one file, hold down the CTRL or SHIFT keys as you select the folders, jobs, or transformations, then right-click and select Delete.

Lock and Unlock Jobs and Transformations

You can lock or unlock jobs and transformations.  Locking and unlocking jobs and transformations protect them from being edited by other users.

Lock a Job or Transformation

To lock a job or transformation, complete these steps.

  1. In the Browse tab in the Repository Explorer window, right-click the job, or transformation and select Lock.
  2. Enter the notes in the Lock Notes window that appears.
  3. Click OK.  The job or transformation icon changes to show a padlock.

The lock status icons are updated on each PDI client only when the Repository Explorer is accessed. If you want to refresh lock status in the Repository Explorer, exit and access it again.  Also, select more than one file, hold down the CTRL or SHIFT keys as you select the folders, jobs, or transformations.

lockicon.png

View Lock Notes

To view notes that were entered when the job or transformation was locked, do these things.

  1. In the Browse tab in the Repository Explorer window, right-click the job, or transformation and select Lock Notes.
  2. The lock note appears in a pop up window. 
  3. Click OK to dismiss the note.

Unlock a Job or Transformation

To unlock a job or transformation, complete these steps.

  1. In the Browse tab in the Repository Explorer window, right-click the job, or transformation and select Lock.
  2. The icon for the job or transformation returns to normal; the padlock icon disappears.

To select more than one file, hold down the CTRL or SHIFT keys as you select the folders, jobs, or transformations.

Access Connection, Security, and Cluster Information

In addition to managing content such as jobs and transformations, click the Connections tab to manage (create, edit, and delete) your database connections in the Pentaho Repository. See Managing Connections for more information about connecting to a database.

Click the Security tab to manage users and roles. Pentaho Data Integration comes with a default security provider. If you do not have an existing security such as LDAP or MSAD, you can use Pentaho Security to define users and roles. You must have administrative privileges to manage security. For more information, see the section called Administer the DI Server.

permissions.png

You can manage your slave servers (Data Integration and Carte instances) by clicking the Slaves tab. See Setting Up a Slave Server for instructions.

Click the Partitions and Cluster tabs to manage partitions and clusters. See Creating a Cluster Schemafor more information.

Setting Folder-Level Permissions

You can assign specific permissions to content files and folders stored in the Pentaho Repository. Setting permissions manually will override inherited permissions if the access control flags allow. Follow the instructions below to set folder-level permissions.

  1. Open the Repository Explorer (Tools > Repository > Explore).
  2. Navigate to the folder to which you want permissions set and click to select it.

    The folder must appear in the right pane before you can set permissions.

  3. In the lower pane, under the Permissions tab, disable Inherit security settings from parent.
  4. Click Add to open the Select User or Role dialog box.
  5. Select a user or role to add to the permission list. Use the yellow arrows to move the user or role in or out of the permissions list. Click OK when you are done.
  6. In the lower pane, under the Access Control tab, enable the appropriate Permissions granted to your selected user or role. 

    If you change your mind, use Delete to remove users or roles from the list.

  7. Click Apply to apply permissions.